Three alumni to receive Harvard Medal at Commencement

Monday, April 22, 2019 - 09:50 in Health & Medicine

The Harvard Alumni Association (HAA) has announced that Teresita Alvarez-Bjelland ’76, M.B.A. ’79; Dan H. Fenn Jr. ’44, A.M. ’72; and Tamara Elliott Rogers ’74 will receive the 2019 Harvard Medal. First awarded in 1981, the Harvard Medal recognizes extraordinary service to the University. Harvard President Larry Bacow will present the medals during the Annual Meeting of the HAA (Afternoon Program) on Commencement Day, May 30. Teresita Alvarez-Bjelland has faithfully and energetically served Harvard for more than four decades, in both Cambridge and Oslo, Norway, her home for 35 years. As a student, she was elected first marshal of her class and awarded the Capt. Jonathan Fay Prize, then Radcliffe College’s highest honor for an undergraduate. After a Rotary Fellowship at the London School of Economics, she returned to Harvard for her M.B.A. and was a resident tutor in Kirkland House. Her involvement continues today as a member of the University’s Global Advisory Council, co-chair of...

Read the whole article on Harvard Science

More from Harvard Science

Latest Science Newsletter

Get the latest and most popular science news articles of the week in your Inbox! It's free!

Check out our next project, Biology.Net