Four MIT faculty members receive U.S. Department of Energy early career awards

Wednesday, July 15, 2020 - 15:00 in Physics & Chemistry

The U.S. Department of Energy (DoE) recently announced the names of 76 scientists who have been selected for their 2020 Early Career Research Program. The list includes four faculty members from MIT: Ronald Fernando Garcia Ruiz, assistant professor of physics and researcher in the Laboratory for Nuclear Science (LNS); Karthish Manthiram, assistant professor of chemical engineering; Phiala Shanahan, assistant professor of physics and researcher in the Center for Theoretical Physics within the LNS; and Wim van Rees, assistant professor of mechanical engineering.   Each year, the DoE selects researchers for significant funding "nation’s scientific workforce by providing support to exceptional researchers during crucial early career years, when many scientists do their most formative work." The four projects submitted by MIT researchers that were chosen for this year’s program will pursue research into various aspects of fundamental physics. Investigating exotic nuclear phenomena and fundamental symmetries of nature Atomic nuclei with certain numbers of protons and...

Read the whole article on MIT Research

More from MIT Research

Latest Science Newsletter

Get the latest and most popular science news articles of the week in your Inbox! It's free!

Check out our next project, Biology.Net