HKS announces winners of Neustadt and Schelling Awards

Wednesday, March 23, 2011 - 04:10 in Mathematics & Economics

One of the nation’s most eminent economists and a dynamic young development economist are recipients of the 2011 Richard E. Neustadt and Thomas C. Schelling Awards. The awards will be presented on May 5 during a dinner at the Charles Hotel hosted by Dean David T. Ellwood of Harvard Kennedy School (HKS). Paul Volcker, A.M. ’51, who served as chairman of the Federal Reserve Bank from 1979 to 1987 and more recently as chairman of President Obama’s Economic Recovery Advisory Board, will receive the Richard E. Neustadt Award. The award is bestowed annually to an individual who has created powerful solutions to public problems, drawing on research and intellectual ideas as appropriate. Past recipients include Judith Gueron (2005), Muhammad Yunus (2006), Justice Richard J. Goldstone (2007), Gro Harlem Brundtland (2008), and Alice M. Rivlin (2009). Esther Duflo, the Abdul Latif Jameel Professor of Poverty Alleviation and Development Economics at the Massachusetts Institute...

Read the whole article on Harvard Science

More from Harvard Science

Latest Science Newsletter

Get the latest and most popular science news articles of the week in your Inbox! It's free!

Check out our next project, Biology.Net